• If you can dream it, you can do it. Walt Disney

Graduate from the University of Exeter



The University of Exeter is a public research university based in Exeter, South West England. It is a member of the Russell Group of UK universities. Its motto is Lucem sequimur (we follow the light).

It has its origins in the Exeter School of Art and Exeter School of Science, which were founded in 1855 and 1863 to celebrate Prince Albert’s services to the arts and sciences. The schools merged, becoming the Royal Albert Memorial College, the University College of the South West of England and in 1955 the University of Exeter, as it received its Royal Charter.

The university is spread across four campuses: Streatham, St Luke’s in Exeter, and Truro and Penryn in Cornwall. In 1993, Camborne School of Mines was merged into the University of Exeter.

The University of Exeter is organised into six academic colleges. Their many research institutes and centres include the Centre for Leadership Studies, the Bill Douglas Centre for the History of Cinema and Popular Culture, and the Centre for Maritime Historical Studies. Its research themes are often interdisciplinary, and include climate change, translational medicine and exoplanets.

University of Exeter alumni include J. K. Rowling – who studied a BA in French and Classics – and politicians Sajid Javid, Caroline Lucas and Andrew Lansley.